U.K. Opens Borders to Visitors From 12 Countries Starting May 17

London, England, UK, Travel Restrictions, COVID-19

Add the United Kingdom to the growing list of countries opening up to international visitors.

The U.K. government has divided the rest of the world into three categories: green countries, amber countries, and red countries. Green countries—of which there are currently only 12—are those the U.K. government has deemed low risk.

Starting on May 17, visitors from the 12 green countries will be allowed to visit the U.K. without quarantining upon arrival. However, they will still be required to provide a negative Covid-19 before arrival. A PCR test must also be taken on each visitor’s second day on British soil.

See the complete list of those countries below (via Forbes):


  1. Australia
  2. New Zealand
  3. Singapore
  4. Brunei
  5. Iceland
  6. Faroe Islands
  7. Gibraltar
  8. Falkland Islands
  9. Israel and Jerusalem
  10. South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  11. Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
  12. Portugal, including the Azores and Madeira

The United Kingdom is far from the first European country to begin opening its borders to travelers. Over the last few weeks, other European nations like France, Greece, and Italy have rolled out similar strategies.

Further afield, several Caribbean nations have opened their doors to American visitors, and Japan is implementing a vaccine passport that will open its borders to travelers from select regions.

Suffice it to say that the international adventures that seemed nearly impossible at the height of the pandemic are suddenly looking much more likely!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.